Franklin: Record - Igor Markevitch [videorecording].

Franklin: Penn Libraries Catalog

Main Content

Igor Markevitch [videorecording].

[Hayes, Middlesex] : EMI Classics, 2003.
Classic archive ; 10
1 videodisc (113 min.) : sd., b&w ; 4 3/4 in.
Operas -- Excerpts.
Psalms (Music)
Choruses, Sacred (Mixed voices) with orchestra.
Ballets -- Excerpts.
Suites (Orchestra)
Television programs.
The 5th work sung in Latin. Titles available in English, French, German and Spanish.
System details:
: DVD; NTSC; 4:3 aspect ratio.
Tannhäuser. Overture (14:04) ; Tristan und Isolde. Prelude (10:58) ; Liebestod (7:46) / Richard Wagner
Symphony no. 1 in F minor, op. 10 / Dmitri Shostakovich (28:58)
Symphony of Psalms (20:04) ; The firebird. Suite (1945) (31:03) / Igor Stravinsky.
Orchestre National de l'ORTF (Wagner) ; Orchestre National de la RTF (Shostakovich); Orchestre Philharmonique et Chœurs de l'ORTF (Stravinsky Symphony of Psalms) ; New Philharmonia Orchestra (Stravinsky Firebird) ; Igor Markevitch, Igor Stravinsky (last work), conductors.
Producers, Pierre-Olivier Bardet (Idéale Audience International) and Stephen Wright (IMG Artists). Directed by Denise Billon, except the Firebird directed by Brian Large. Film restoration producer, Kaléo Films. Sound analysis and restoration, Charles Schlumberger, Lobster Films. Editorial concept (DVD production), Jacques Spohr.
Filmed for television at the Besançon XXI International Festival, Sept. 15, 1968 (Wagner); in Paris, June 15, 1963 (Shostakovich); at the ORTF, Paris, June 14, 1967 (Stravinsky Symphony of Psalms); and at the Royal Festival Hall, London, Sept. 14, 1965 (Stravinsky Firebird).
Linear PCM mono sound remastered for DVD.
An Ideale Audience International & IMG Artists production, released with the participation of BBC, INA, CNC.
Program notes by Alan Sanders in English with French, German, and Spanish translations, and text of the 5th work in Latin with English translation (19 p. : ports.) inserted in container.
EMI Classics: 7243 4 90111 9 9 (on container spine: DVB 4901119)
Markevitch, Igor, 1912-1983. , Conductor
Billon, Denise. , Director
Large, Brian. , Director
Bardet, Pierre-Olivier. , Producer
Wright, Stephen, producer. , Producer
Orchestre national de l'O.R.T.F. , Performer
Radiodiffusion-Télévision française. Orchestre national. , Performer
Orchestre philharmonique de l'O.R.T.F. , Performer
Radiodiffusion-Télévision française. Chœurs. , Performer
New Philharmonia Orchestra. , Performer
Idéale Audience International. , Producer
IMG Artists (Firm) , Producer
EMI (Firm). , Distributor
Wagner, Richard, 1813-1883., Composer Tannhäuser. Ouvertüre.
Wagner, Richard, 1813-1883., Composer Tristan und Isolde. 1. Aufzug. Einleitung.
Wagner, Richard, 1813-1883., Composer Tristan und Isolde. Liebestod.
Shostakovich, Dmitriĭ Dmitrievich, 1906-1975., Composer Symphonies, no. 1, op. 10.
Stravinsky, Igor, 1882-1971., Composer Symphonie de Psaumes.
Stravinsky, Igor, 1882-1971., Composer Zhar-ptit︠s︡a. Suite (1945)
Publisher no.:
7243 4 90111 9 9 EMI Classics
DVB 4901119 EMI Classics